About Me.

Hello.

I study Fashion Buying (Design) at De Montfort University. My mum had always dreamed of being a fashion buyer – I think that’s where my love for fashion stemmed from.

Fig. 1
Fig. 1

Being a twin makes it hard to be seen as an individual. Fashion was an easy way to show that we may look alike but our personalities are very different and we each have our own sense of style.

 

I’ve always loved art. It is a way of representing something/someone – this is represented through my A-Level exam. (see picture) Fashion is art to me, although many critics insist “art is art and fashion is an industry” (Geczy, A., Karaminas, V. 2013) I couldn’t disagree more I believe fashion is a form of self-expression and therefore the body is a canvas for the clothing. There are many arguments on the topic of fashion being an art,

Fig. 2
Fig. 2

however according to ‘Fashion as Art; Is Fashion Art’ they concluded that fashion is more so objects of admiration in a museum rather than an art. (Sandra Miller, 2007) However, to me fashion is such a powerful thing, it can tell you a lot about a person with no words therefore I will always class fashion as an art.

 

My favourite bloggers is Ellie Beatrice Joslin. She represents who she is. Some days she’s dressed in joggers, in others she’s dressed to impress. This shows that style is not just about looking pretty and following trends it’s more than that. It’s showing that fashion is a way of expressing yourself.

One of my favourtie designers is Balmain. I love their use of embroidery as I view it as a piece of art, looking at every little detail of their embellishments, I love the fact that their silhouettes are modern and therefore following with the rise of the modern era. My favourite collection for A/W 16/17 was Dior. They have gone back to their original palette of black and white. This combination is the most elemental representation of duality: masculine and feminine, history and modernity.” (Lucie Meier and Serge Ruffieux, 2016) Which I couldn’t agree with more, black and white are the most classic colours for fashion, no matter what the ‘in’ colour is, you can never go wrong with black and white.

Lauren.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Bibliography:

  • Lucie Meier and Serge Ruffieux (2016) Défilé Dior Haute Couture Automne Hiver 2016-2017 [online] Available from: https://fashioncvmag.com/2016/07/06/dior-8/
  • GECZY, A., KARMAINAS, V. (2013) Fashion. In: GECZY, A., KARMAINAS, V. (eds) Fashion and Art. 1st ed. Bloomsbury Publishing, p.22.
  • MILLER, S. (2007) Fashion as Art; is Fashion Art. Fashion Theory, Vol. 11. (1) p.39.

Image Referencing:  

 

Leave a Reply

